Having the Blues

June 21, 2015

Porcelain Doll

My Best Writing

is done when I’m in a blue funk. 

OK. Maybe that’s not exactly true, maybe it’s not my BEST writing, but it’s certainly my MOST writing.

Why is that?

Why don’t I feel inspired to write when I’m ecstatic, or quiet, or bored?

Is it the primordial cry for help? As in, “Help! I’m sinking! and I’m not sure I can remember how to swim”?

Is it a spoiled brat cry for attention? As in, “Look at me! I’m so sad! Doesn’t someone want to pay attention to me or entertain me?”

Is it a feeling of separation from the rest of humanity? As in, “Why am I over here when everyone else is over there? What is my purpose in life?

Is it lonliness kicking in? 

Or anxiety over work, income, school schedule?

Or just one of those phases that comes and goes with the proximity of the moon?

Whatever it is

it’s making me crazy today.

Yesterday I was fine. Tonight I’ll probably be fine. Right now I’m feeling like dust in the wind with no purpose, destination or control.

Maybe that’s the answer!

Just go back to my true desire.

Peel the skin off the onion…What do I honestly want?

What is the best plan to get it?

What is the first step to take me there?

NO! It’s none of that surface flotsam!

It’s simple, really.

Happiness, satisfaction, contentment, joy…in fact, any and every emotion known to man (or woman) can only come from inside. No outside force or event can ever bring a change in anyone’s emotional state unless it is allowed to have an effect.

I have the blues because I have sought out this emotional state for some reason.

It is completely and totally my choice and I can as readilly choose another state of mind.

And so…for the balance of this day I choose to be in a positive state of mind; to be content with my surroundings and the pace at which they change; to fold up the emotions that are less than positive into a tiny piece of nothing and throw them away, then have them come back painted happy so I can unfold them and repost them all around me in a different state of light.

What a Difference a Shift in Perspective can Make!

18 Responses to “Having the Blues”

  1. Hiya, Kayuk!

    This may not be relevant but, nah … that’s not all there is. Just to throw in two cents or three, these may apply to you:

    Schopenhauer says that “Genius is a target that no one else can see.”

    Dean Simonton says, “When you start asking questions about most stuff that people take for granted, you may end up with answers that no one imagined.”

    And Mahadevan says that … “Just because something is familiar doesn’t mean you understand it. This is the common fallacy that all adults make and no child ever does.”

    I say, who knows? A feeling of inexplicabe ennui just might be the springboard that takes your creativity to unprecedented heights. In closing, consider this:

    😀

    • kayuk said

      Bwahahahahahaha!

      Thank you Melinda!

      You have just shown me that I am taking myself FAR to seriously (or, not seriously enough, I’m a little confused here). However, the posters totally cracked me up so I certainly have proof that I have not lost my sense of humor.

  2. Pile of journals tucked away at my house filled with me pretending my diary is a (free) talk therapist. It does help with the blues because after a few pages it’s boring even to me, and that is a curative of sorts.

    Also, on a really bad day, I tell myself, this is the incubator of creativity. A best seller will come of this misery! No best sellers yet, but it helps in the moment.

    Keep writing!

    Cheers —

    • kayuk said

      LOL!! Thanks, your perspective on crying the blues is much like mine. It does bring out my urge to write.

      Maybe we should partner up and write the ‘I’m So Miserable’ book from out past notes.

  3. I agree that we choose to change our mood, but I find that listening to a song that gives me chills or looking at the native plants in my yard can produce a definite surge of happiness.

    • kayuk said

      Yes, I’ve come across some triggers as well.

      Now that I can bear to listen to music again, some music is very mood altering.

      And I love to photograph the morning and early evening sky, reflections on water, waterfalls, bridges over water….hmmm….it seems that I have made a ‘self discovery’! I just like seeing and photographing water and sky.

      AlthoughI have to say that, as I think about it, I prefer natural water settings to anything obviously man-made, excluding Japanese water gardens.

  4. Sadness breeds a contemplative mind and when we’re happy we’re usually doing something far from the keyboard. At least that’s my take. I too write more when blue.

    • kayuk said

      Thanks Erich, that sounds like an excellent take on the situation.

      You’re totally correct. When I’m preoccupied or busy I just don’t have the time to think it through and follow the twistng scavenger hunt trail to the illusive pearl of exactly right wordage.

      But pensive mood seems to put me in the frame of mind to allow my feelings to ooze out out all over the paper (or the bloggosphere) so any and all can bear witness to my (lonely / sad / reflective / introverted / moody / …) frame of mind.

      I also tend to be more thoughtful and eloquent, write more slowly, and choose words for the flavor of feeling they instill in me. I truly love the almost physical ‘click’ of rightness when I find the perfect word.

  5. leggypeggy said

    You are masteriing the art of turning a blue day into a positive.

  6. kayuk said

    Thanks, it’s good to be back and in a different, more positive frame of mind.
    LOL! I finally decided to go Zen. ie: What is, is. I accept it and let it work for me.

  7. Some of my funniest posts are borne out of the blues (or an anxiety attack). Writing is a great way to change the river of despair into an ocean of happiment. 🙂

    Glad to see you writing again.

    • kayuk said

      Thanks! I know what you mean. Often I start writing in a blue funk and as I realize how whiny I sound, and that I don’t want to sound or feel that way, my mind begins to seek alternatives.

      Often I can look back on a post and see the change communicating through the pen (keyboard) as I progress through to the end of the article.

      Just recognizing the ‘I don’t want to feel this way any more’ feeling and realizing that there are alternatives and I have control of them has brought about an enormous and rapid change in my overall outlook as well.

I love your comments, good or bad. Please leave one, I will respond.

Exploring Alura

The Bipolar Girl Who Shines Brightly

Rosie Culture

Rosie and her 20's

a comedian's notebook

taking comedy seriously, but not too seriously

Writer's Treasure Chest

A blog for authors, about authors, written by an author

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

The Hedgeblog

Brit Mum. Cake Lover. Bad Poet. Writer.

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

Jessica Torres

Published Poet • Writer • Spoken Word Artist • Actress • Model

Fido 'n Fluffy's Blog

"Accentuate the Pawsitive"

Surprising Lives

Discover Life, Incredible People, Places and Our World!

CoffeeGrounded's Blog

Charged up and ready to ramble

Funny Jokes, Cartoons, Inspirational Quotes

Set of True Revolutionary Thoughts, Motivational Articles, Cartoons and Inspirational Best Ever Realistic Quotes.

Jebus Mews & Andrea

Photo Enthusiast, Travel, NYC & Cats

999 roses in my life

999 bông hồng, 999 phụ nữ đẹp. 999 roses, 999 beautiful ladies.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

