Of Dogs, Knee Surgery, and Large Horses, Part 5

May 27, 2013

You can find the original episodes at:

Of Dogs, Knee Surgery, and Large Horses (Part 1)

Of Dogs, Knee Surgery, and Large Horses (Part 2)

Of Dogs, Knee Surgery, and Large Horses (Part 3)

Of Dogs, Knee Surgery, and Large Horses (Part 4)

Of Dogs, Knee Surgery, and Large Horses, Part 5

I woke up in the wee hours of the morning and lay there for a moment in the dark wondering where I was and what woke me up. BARK!! I had fallen asleep well before my normal bedtime, and my dog didn’t get her usual early evening constitutional so she was standing at the door. Every few minutes she would give a short, urgent bark. ARGroan!

I tried to roll out of bed to let her out and almost fell on my head. Something was wrapped around my leg! Then the events of the previous day seeped into the mush that filled my head and I remembered the surgery….and the fall. I reached down and felt around my knee to see how big it was and realized that I couldn’t find it under all the wrappings.

For some reason, as I lay there alone in my apartment with my dog barking at the door, this struck me as funny and I was overcome by hysterical laughter. Then, an intense feeling of sadness and abandonment rolled over me in a wave and before you could say ‘post traumatic stress syndrome’ the tears were rolling down my cheeks and I was sobbing as uncontrollably as I had been laughing a moment before. Fortunately, before I could get entrenched too deeply in this frame of mind, the cycle was interrupted by another bark from the direction of the door and a suddenly urgent bladder.

And the reality of my situation thundered in on me. I was afraid to try to get up. I was afraid to use the crutches. And every living creature in the apartment had to pee. Soon.

legphoto 2I’m not sure if it was the drugs or the nerve block, but I was certain that I had very little time to do SOMETHING or I would have to find someplace else to sleep. So….I sat up, got my crutches lined up, and slid my legs off the bed. OK…so far, so good. Then I very carefully bent over and disconnected myself from the now warm ice pump. I stood up on the crutches and swayed back and forth before staggering like a drunken sailor through the house, throwing open the front door and watching Rally trot out, then I turned, waited for equilization of my internal balance bubble, and hitched-slid, hitched-slid, hitched-slid my way to the bathroom. I forgot to move the crutches out of the way when I tried to sit down and nearly spun myself to the floor again, but managed to catch the edge of the door, disengage the crutches and settle onto the toilet. Aaaahhhh!!

legphoto 14I was there for quite a while. Thinking about the trip back to the bedroom. How I would place each crutch for maximum stability. I could turn the lights out on the way, and tuck myself safely back into bed. The ice water was warm now, and I could feel my leg swelling the longer I was more-or-less upright, but I couldn’t think of a solution to that at the moment, so I decided to leave it for the next time I woke up.

Finally, all my decisions made, I worked my way back to the bedroom, swung my legs back into bed, flipped the covers over myself…..and BARK!! Rally wanted in. Sigh….maybe she’ll change her mind, I thought…. BARK!! No, she wasn’t changing her mind. I sat up, swung my legs back out of bed, braced myself for the pressure under my arms and on the heels of my hands (they already felt bruised after only one trip to the bathroom) and staggered back to the door. Naturally, my blind/deaf dog was standing three feet from the door and I had to reach out and touch her with the crutch before she realized the door was open, while at the same time fending off the barn cats who were attempting to sneak into the house. I would have let one or two in to comfort me, but I didn’t think I could bend over to clean out the litter box.

Eventually Rally ended up inside, the cats remained outside, and I was ready to collapse. How do people who use crutches all the time survive it? I wondered as I sat there gathering strength for the trip back to the bedroom. I would like to say that I surged to my feet, took control of those crutches, and marched in a frog-hopping sort of way straight back to bed, but instead the trip was completed in a 100 year old geriatric shuffle, and probably took several minutes.

By the time I had reached the bed I was freezing—except my knee, which was on fire—and I could barely lift my legs far enough over the edge of the bed to be safe.

Too tired and defeated to even cry, I tucked myself in the best I could, huddled under the covers, and slipped again into a mostly drugged sleep.

To Be Continued….

6 Responses to “Of Dogs, Knee Surgery, and Large Horses, Part 5”

  1. […] Of Dogs, Knee Surgery, and Large Horses (Part 5) […]

  2. floridaborne said

    After having the painless migraine thing for 5 months and having to hug walls to walk, I have a miniscule idea of the effort it takes to go just 1 step. What you did in that one sequence was put forth the effort of a marathon runner. My heart goes out to you and I hope that because of your excellent physical stamina, you have a speedy recovery.

    • kayuk said

      Thank you. I think we are very similar. I read about your issues and wonder if I would have the mental fortitude and will power to make it through all that, and you look at my issues through the same glass. When, in truth, neither of us has much choice. We either give up, crawl in a hole, whine, and never accomplish anything, or we just keep on keeping on and try to see the incredible humor both in the comical moments provided by our very situations, and in life as it flows around us. I think you’ll agree, humor is better every time. Of course, occasionally it’s hard to find. 😉

  3. m33s66vr said

    Nice read, though it’s tough to read of your travails… It’s a good thing Rally can still bark! And, it was a good idea NOT to allow some kitties in (they would probably pounce on the wrong knee at the wrong time!)… Hang in there!

    • kayuk said

      LOL! Even if they pounced on the wrong knee, it’s not likely I would have even known. Between drugs and bubble wrap I was pretty insulated, even from kitties.

I love your comments, good or bad. Please leave one, I will respond.

Exploring Alura

The Bipolar Girl Who Shines Brightly

Rosie Culture

Rosie and her 20's

a comedian's notebook

taking comedy seriously, but not too seriously

Writer's Treasure Chest

A blog for authors, about authors, written by an author

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

The Hedgeblog

Brit Mum. Cake Lover. Bad Poet. Writer.

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

Fido 'n Fluffy's Blog

"Accentuate the Pawsitive"

Surprising Lives

Discover Life, Incredible People, Places and Our World!

CoffeeGrounded's Blog

Charged up and ready to ramble

Funny Jokes, Cartoons, Inspirational Quotes

Set of True Revolutionary Thoughts, Motivational Articles, Cartoons and Inspirational Best Ever Realistic Quotes.

Jebus Mews & Andrea

Photo Enthusiast, Travel, NYC & Cats

999 roses in my life

999 bông hồng, 999 phụ nữ đẹp. 999 roses, 999 beautiful ladies.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

itinerantneerdowell

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

