Day 26 NaPoWriMo – Cat Haiku

April 27, 2013

MamaCat

Expectant Felines
Expectant Felines
find comfort in strange places
just before birthing.

kittens

Newborn Kittens
Staggering fur balls,
strange mewling, sucking noises;
new kittens nursing.

tinyKittens

Kittens
Seems to me that kittens
romp like crazy between feeds,
then sleep in soft balls.

cattens

Catten
Cattens spend their time
practicing mouse destruction
on other cattens.

MonsterKitty

Cats
Cats sleep in the sink,
and tell wild tales every night
of their catten days.

13 Responses to “Day 26 NaPoWriMo – Cat Haiku”

  1. Lovely cats and lovely haiku as well. Love it!

    Vijay
    – HalfEatenMind

    • kayuk said

      Thanks Vijay,

      I’m happy you enjoyed it. I love your story on the Atacama Humanoid; your website seems loaded with fascinating stories so I’ll be hanging out there! Hope you don’t mind!

      Vickie

      • Oh I don’t mind at all, I’m glad you found something you liked…there’s plenty of good stuff bursting out of the Half-Eaten Mind, something for everyone 🙂

        Regards,
        Vijay

  2. I have never owned a cat..allergies..but I find your post intriguing all the same! I am happy for all of you cat lovers! meow!

    • kayuk said

      That’s too bad! My niece has allergies to cats as well. I can’t help thinking that it must be sad that you don’t at least have the option to have a cat in the house. I have two that follow me and my dog around the racetrack for our evening walk. LOL! Think I’ll try and get a video of them this evening. There’s a lot about them to love.

    • Vickie said

      Thank you again Patti!

      I’m sitting here after the most hectic three days I can remember, in the middle of a wild case of sleep deprivation, and wondering what I did to deserve this.

      As I’ve said before, I would write even if no one ever reads what I post. It’s just something that boils to the surface and I transfer it from the waves of my mind to the waves of the internet. I try to always be happy with what I write, but occasionally I can’t get the exact right word that conveys precisely what I want to say, or the rhyming isn’t quite what I want. I post anyway because ……. well, just because. Because I have to in order to send it on its way.

      But the comments and awards are what tells me that it has hit rich and fertile ground. That, like the beauty of a rose at the door, a touch of soft fur, the scent of baby powder, it will linger in the memory for a time with a life of its own.

      Thanks,

      Vickie

  3. floridaborne said

    Cattens? Great word! Loved the pictures and the descriptions of new kittens as sleeping in soft balls.

  4. Love them all, but particularly the cattens one!! 🙂

  5. m33s66vr said

    I always knew, it would be true… Many mews, could inspire cool Haiku’s… (Sorry, I couldn’t resist!)…
    Nice Haiku – and I LOVE the pics!

I love your comments, good or bad. Please leave one, I will respond.

Exploring Alura

The Bipolar Girl Who Shines Brightly

Rosie Culture

Rosie and her 20's

a comedian's notebook

taking comedy seriously, but not too seriously

Writer's Treasure Chest

A blog for authors, about authors, written by an author

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

The Hedgeblog

Brit Mum. Cake Lover. Bad Poet. Writer.

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

Fido 'n Fluffy's Blog

"Accentuate the Pawsitive"

Surprising Lives

Discover Life, Incredible People, Places and Our World!

CoffeeGrounded's Blog

Charged up and ready to ramble

Funny Jokes, Cartoons, Inspirational Quotes

Set of True Revolutionary Thoughts, Motivational Articles, Cartoons and Inspirational Best Ever Realistic Quotes.

Jebus Mews & Andrea

Photo Enthusiast, Travel, NYC & Cats

999 roses in my life

999 bông hồng, 999 phụ nữ đẹp. 999 roses, 999 beautiful ladies.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

itinerantneerdowell

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

