Day 17 NaPoWriMo – Perception

April 17, 2013

Real Beauty Sketches is an amazing video and it is proof positive that most of us have no idea how beautiful and special we are.

As I watched it I wondered how many unthinking comments I have made about the appearance of another. How have my words shaped the filter through which another views himself/herself? I sincerely hope that the balance is on the positive side.

Self Perception
Self perception is a strange thing.
It is a camera’s eye through which we see the world;
filtered by a lens of accumulated experiences
and the comments of others we love and respect.

Why do we only hear and remember the negative?
I wonder if we surprised each other by commenting on the beauty we see,
I wonder if this could change our perception of ourselves,
could change others’ perceptions of themselves.
Would we be more comfortable in our own skins?

Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder.
In my eyes you are beautiful.

9 Responses to “Day 17 NaPoWriMo – Perception”

  1. m33s66vr said

    Self perception does ‘show’. The elements of your life you’re confident with will ‘show’ attractively. Conversely, if you’re not confident about aspects of your life, you’ll not likely ‘show’ attractively. There’s also a lot of ‘natural forces’ at play, that are tough for anyone to set aside.
    It takes a vigilant mind to feel beautiful, and/or see it…
    PS: Congrats on the nominations!…

  2. floridaborne said

    You certainly deserve it. 🙂

  3. shanesbookblog said

    Hey, I nominated you for the Versatile blogger award, If you don’t accept awards I completely understand But the rules say I have to inform the people I nominate so yea

    =]

    http://shanesbookblog.com/2013/04/18/nominated-for-the-versatile-blogger-award-the-best-moment-award/

    • kayuk said

      Shane, thank you so much for the nomination. I am flattered beyond belief, especially since I like your blog so much and love your poetry.
      Thank you, Thank you , Thank you!

    • kayuk said

      Thank you so much! I am honored beyond words and will do my best to live up to this nomination. Coming from someone who has such a wonderful blog and writes as you do, and creates such beautiful backgrounds for the pages, this means a great deal to me.

I love your comments, good or bad. Please leave one, I will respond.

Exploring Alura

The Bipolar Girl Who Shines Brightly

Rosie Culture

Rosie and her 20's

a comedian's notebook

taking comedy seriously, but not too seriously

Writer's Treasure Chest

A blog for authors, about authors, written by an author

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

The Hedgeblog

Brit Mum. Cake Lover. Bad Poet. Writer.

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

Fido 'n Fluffy's Blog

"Accentuate the Pawsitive"

Surprising Lives

Discover Life, Incredible People, Places and Our World!

CoffeeGrounded's Blog

Charged up and ready to ramble

Funny Jokes, Cartoons, Inspirational Quotes

Set of True Revolutionary Thoughts, Motivational Articles, Cartoons and Inspirational Best Ever Realistic Quotes.

Jebus Mews & Andrea

Photo Enthusiast, Travel, NYC & Cats

999 roses in my life

999 bông hồng, 999 phụ nữ đẹp. 999 roses, 999 beautiful ladies.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

itinerantneerdowell

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

