Day 5 NaPoWriMo – Eight and a Half Months

April 5, 2013

IMG_0500
Eight and a Half Months

Once upon a summer day
with another in embrace
I spied my sweetling current lover
with one—not me—but with another.
I, whose stomach rounder grows,
once rosy face with anger glows,
who waited nights for warm embrace
now wonder how I lost the race.

Was it me, or was it him,
or is it more than us and them?
Is she prettier than I?
Please don’t let me start to cry!
The carpet from beneath my feet
is pulled, but there is no defeat.
I lift my chin and look ahead,
no need to cry, for I’m not dead.

A few more months and there’ll be two,
I’ve plans to make and things to do!
Move on! Move on! And cut his strings,
My thoughts turn to important things;
like baby beds and nursery chimes,
and memories of better times.
But then he smiles at me with pride….
his sister standing at his side.

8 Responses to “Day 5 NaPoWriMo – Eight and a Half Months”

  1. Jixi Fox said

    Nice…

    “My thoughts turn to important things;
    like baby beds and nursery chimes,”

  2. m33s66vr said

    And I like it too!… I thought the ‘closing’ was clear…

  3. Beautiful, It reminds me of an pld country song titled “Tragic Love”
    only in the song he caught on years too late.

    • kayuk said

      That certainly would be tragic, I’ll have to look the song up. If it fits the station format I’ll have it added to the playlist at Country Rider Radio. (www.live365.com/arn107)

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  4. Consider yourself lucky to be rid of him and pity the next victims.
    Who cares about his smiles…the smiling face of a buddha hides the heart of a scorpion. The Chinese are good at this:)BTW…good poem!

    • kayuk said

      OOPS! Actually, in the last line she discovers that the girl he’s hugging is his sister. It was her insecurity making her assume what she saw was infideity and giving her all those thoughts of leaving him. I guess I need to re-write that line to make it more clear. Very happy that you liked it though!

I love your comments, good or bad. Please leave one, I will respond.

Exploring Alura

The Bipolar Girl Who Shines Brightly

Rosie Culture

Rosie and her 20's

a comedian's notebook

taking comedy seriously, but not too seriously

Writer's Treasure Chest

A blog for authors, about authors, written by an author

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

The Hedgeblog

Brit Mum. Cake Lover. Bad Poet. Writer.

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

Fido 'n Fluffy's Blog

"Accentuate the Pawsitive"

Surprising Lives

Discover Life, Incredible People, Places and Our World!

CoffeeGrounded's Blog

Charged up and ready to ramble

Funny Jokes, Cartoons, Inspirational Quotes

Set of True Revolutionary Thoughts, Motivational Articles, Cartoons and Inspirational Best Ever Realistic Quotes.

Jebus Mews & Andrea

Photo Enthusiast, Travel, NYC & Cats

999 roses in my life

999 bông hồng, 999 phụ nữ đẹp. 999 roses, 999 beautiful ladies.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

itinerantneerdowell

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

