Day 3 NaPoWriMo – Perspective of Time

April 3, 2013

time
Perspective of Time

When I was child time moved in slow motion
while I raced about at the speed of light–
one moment a cowgirl, the next a ballerina,
a week as an astronaut, another as mother–
living entire careers in moments.

A trip to the sun was a journey of seconds.

School started and the days overflowed
with alphabet soup, blackboards and chalk,
evenings bulged with chase and hopscotch.
There were trees to climb, races to run;
the exciting days were never-ending.

The bus ride to school lasted a lifetime.

Weeks were long, then Boys were discovered.
Would I go on a date, or wash my hair?
Mood swings ruled unpredictable time–
one day a lifetime, the next just seconds,
energy and pimples linked with time.

Time darted forward then dragged its feet.

Studies ended, family life began.
Jobs, shopping, car pool, house cleaning;
time was scheduled, measured and metered,
a day was a day, a week was a week,
but weekends were still surprisingly short.

Time moved on, predictably irregular.

Children were born, raced about and grew,
the years grew shorter, too soon they moved on.
Bodies ache and movement slows down,
but fickle time races forth, gaining speed.
One day it’s spring, the next leaves fall.

In the blink of an eye months have passed.

Time, now odd, resides in my head,
on wings of memory it sometimes reverses.
I open my eyes and wonder, “When am I?”
Past, present, future, what does it matter?
Time is finally in my control.

It lives in memories, lives in my mind.

6 Responses to “Day 3 NaPoWriMo – Perspective of Time”

  1. I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays..

    • kayuk said

      Thank you very much for this comment! I think it’s the nicest one anyone has given me. I’m so happy that you like the writing. As I write I clear my thoughts, but I always have the desire to move people with what I write. I don’t really care which way they are moved, as long as some movement takes place: from sadness to laughter, boredom to excitement, complacency to anger or inspiration. Any movement is good.

      As for the layout, this is a free WordPress theme but I customized it to suit what I wanted to do. Rather than ‘Pages’ the headers are Categories so all I have to do is to check the Category(s) I want the posting to go to and it works like a charm. Also, I used a photo of my back yard and went to a font website and picked our a free font for the name of the blog page. I’m considering converting to a theme that allows a column on one side for historical posts, but I haven’t found one I like yet.

  2. kayuk said

    Yes, if only we could ‘find’ time.

  3. floridaborne said

    Very true!

  4. m33s66vr said

    Oh – to ‘find’ time…

I love your comments, good or bad. Please leave one, I will respond.

Exploring Alura

The Bipolar Girl Who Shines Brightly

Rosie Culture

Rosie and her 20's

a comedian's notebook

taking comedy seriously, but not too seriously

Writer's Treasure Chest

A blog for authors, about authors, written by an author

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

The Hedgeblog

Brit Mum. Cake Lover. Bad Poet. Writer.

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

Fido 'n Fluffy's Blog

"Accentuate the Pawsitive"

Surprising Lives

Discover Life, Incredible People, Places and Our World!

CoffeeGrounded's Blog

Charged up and ready to ramble

Funny Jokes, Cartoons, Inspirational Quotes

Set of True Revolutionary Thoughts, Motivational Articles, Cartoons and Inspirational Best Ever Realistic Quotes.

Jebus Mews & Andrea

Photo Enthusiast, Travel, NYC & Cats

999 roses in my life

999 bông hồng, 999 phụ nữ đẹp. 999 roses, 999 beautiful ladies.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

itinerantneerdowell

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

