We Meet Again….

March 1, 2011

The story of Ted and Vickie

The second time Ted and I met came as a bit of a surprise to me. After all, I was married to a state park ranger and living in the Florida Keys. I had long ago lost count of the people we met who stayed in the park and promised we would see them again. Of them all, I don’t recall more than five that returned for a second stay in the years we were there.

The first visit by Ted and Sharon had been in the summer, and had lasted three months. That was two years ago. Since then my relationship with Macho Park Ranger Guy had deteriorated to living in the same residence. No real love lost between us. More like a co-tenancy of the residence. I was on birth control pills and really didn’t even want to be touched. He was on Macho pills and wanted his marital rights twice a night. It was a match made in hell. I took sleeping pills so at least he didn’t wake me up for his pleasure.

So, you can imagine my surprise when Macho Park Ranger Guy came home one day with Ted and Sharon in tow! They were on the verge of break-up and had decided to visit the Keys again to try and kick-start their relationship. Macho Park Ranger Guy and I were still living together, mostly because we had no place else to be and because he couldn’t afford to live by himself – even in the park compound. 

I was still working multiple jobs and needed some sleep, but since I had the evening off Ted and Sharon invited us out to dinner in Marathon. I don’t off the top of my head remember the restaurant, but it was on the bay side and at the time was a landmark for boats in the area. It was painted green and stood out from all the other lighter colored buildings, making it easy to spot from the water. I do remember it was one of the best restaurants in the area.

Midway through the meal I felt another leg rub mine, looked up and caught Ted looking at me. His face was deliberately expressionless.  I was intrigued. Why was he doing that? I felt and looked like something a train had run over me. Was he making a pass at me? Was he teasing me? Was it an accident? I moved my leg away and a little later felt his leg against mine again. OK…maybe it was a pass. Maybe he was near-sighted. I know I was nearsighted, but even so I could see that he had put on some weight and gained some…. presence. He was definitely more attractive than he had been the last time I saw him.

I excused myself to the ladies room and after I returned he ignored me and didn’t touch me again. I don’t remember much of the rest of the conversation at the table or on the way home. My brain was beating me up: ‘Why did you have to choose that moment to go to the ladies room?’ ‘What do you think that was all about?’ ‘Does Sharon know?’ ‘Was she touching Macho Park Ranger at the same time?’ ‘Was this some kind of weird sex invitation?’ ‘Should I just pretend it didn’t happen?’

In the end, I did nothing. The evening progressed as if it never happened. They were staying in a hotel in Marathon and the next day they left for Miami, and from there took a flight back to Canada. I knew I would never see them again, so what did it matter anyway.

A year later, still with no way out, I left for North Florida with Macho Park Ranger Man when he was transferred to Goldhead State Park just north of Keystone Heights.

Tune in next Tuesday for the continuing saga of Ted and Vickie – 35 years of Life, The Universe, and Everything.

3 Responses to “We Meet Again….”

  1. Mark Valcour said

    Phew!… Is it warm in here? – or is it just me?!… I feel a bit like a “voyer”. But heh, if the story needs to be told – so be it…
    I enjoyed Episode 2! Looking forward to next Tuesday already…

    • kayuk said

      Never meant this to solicit that kind of response. Maybe I’m writing it incorrectly.

      • Mark Valcour said

        I see that my comments were a bit too flippant. I like your writing and storytelling style. Please don’t let my previous comments lead you to think you’re writing this blog ‘incorrectly’.

I love your comments, good or bad. Please leave one, I will respond.

Exploring Alura

The Bipolar Girl Who Shines Brightly

Rosie Culture

Rosie and her 20's

a comedian's notebook

taking comedy seriously, but not too seriously

Writer's Treasure Chest

A blog for authors, about authors, written by an author

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

Echoes of Life, Love and Laughter

Logical Quotes

Logical and Inspirational quotes

The Hedgeblog

Brit Mum. Cake Lover. Bad Poet. Writer.

anntogether

AM Roselli's art & writing site

Dan Alatorre - AUTHOR

helpful writer ramblings from a disturbed mind just like yours

Fido 'n Fluffy's Blog

"Accentuate the Pawsitive"

Surprising Lives

Discover Life, Incredible People, Places and Our World!

CoffeeGrounded's Blog

Charged up and ready to ramble

Funny Jokes, Cartoons, Inspirational Quotes

Set of True Revolutionary Thoughts, Motivational Articles, Cartoons and Inspirational Best Ever Realistic Quotes.

Jebus Mews & Andrea

Photo Enthusiast, Travel, NYC & Cats

999 roses in my life

999 bông hồng, 999 phụ nữ đẹp. 999 roses, 999 beautiful ladies.

Buffalo Tom Peabody's Blog 1

The 9 lives of Buffalo Tom Peabody.

itinerantneerdowell

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

